PDA

View Full Version : Input on a Drill/Mill Machine

Fabricator
03-26-2004, 11:59 AM
I have an opportunity to get a Mill/Drill machine fairly cheap. I know that these mills/drill machines are for small jobs and hobby use. Which is what I am using it for. I am fairly new at metal fabrication. I want to use this to learn on and for $100.00-$150.00 (what I can get it for) for one of these I figure you can't go wrong. So which one do you guys recommend of the two?
http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/Displayitem.taf?itemnumber=44991
or
http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/Displayitem.taf?itemnumber=42976

Any advise? input? would be appreciated. Also anyone got pics of projects they have done on their Mill/Drill?
Thanks

Gene_Olson
03-26-2004, 12:20 PM
I like the idea of R8 collets in the first one. They have a positive clamping action, you bolt the tool in place. Also, if it has the guts to give you power at those low speeds, that can be handy.
Table seems kinda small, and the frame looks wimpy, but for $150, I would consider one if I had room to put it.

I had one of the second ones long ago. (the twelve speed) Morris taper. I got rid of it. Morris taper is friction fit. When subjected to vibration, which happens, it can let go and the tool can go spinning across your workpiece and bench doing nasty things to either, both, or maybe you. (does that sound like experience???)

G.

Hemirambler
03-26-2004, 02:40 PM
Hi Fabricator!

Normally I would do my very best to steer you away from ANY mill/drill however for the price you could do some good work on one and learn a bunch until you step up to a "real" mill.