PDA

View Full Version : Good cad SW??

Kerry Pinkerton
03-23-2004, 04:54 AM
I need some software to do basic CAD and drawings, primarily drawings. Something SIMPLE....and cheap (or better yet free).

Suggestions?

Bambi
03-23-2004, 06:05 AM
Try Turbo CAD, they have a website, www. IMSI.com.
I think that some of the older versions you can get for FREE.
Key CAD and others are available Free or cheap.
So many think that Auto CAD is the king. It is the baby compared to some of the programs that industry and design use.
Programs like Micro Station beat the best of Auto CAD but have a price per module.
I am not a CAD expert but have found that some of the Free and Cheap programs are easier to use and don't have a big learning curve. I feel if a 29 dollar CAD program can run a CNC machining center and keep tight specs its good enuff.
The other thing I look for is the ability to swap files. With Turbo CAD I can create a file and send it off to someone with Auto CAD and Microstaion and others. I can also recieve files from them in their formats with no problems.
For whatever reason Auto CAD doesn't like Micro Station and other hi end programs. I find it nice that I can swap files with the big boyz.
Turbo CAD is so simple to use, you don't need instructions, you can be drawing parts in minutes. I use it to make patterns and print them, then glue them to the metal and drill and cut to the lines. It does get rid of a lot of trial and error when making a part. Far easier to print a paper mockup then to scrap a piece of metal.
Try it You'll like it

Bambi

Gene_Olson
03-23-2004, 07:03 AM
Try Turbo CAD, they have a website, www. IMSI.com.
I think that some of the older versions you can get for FREE.

I absolutely loved version 2. Great program for 2d drawings, it is still my favorite if I need to do a quick layout sketch.

Some versions have had trouble with line intersections.