PDA

View Full Version : Smithy 3 in 1 help

280mark
03-16-2011, 10:00 AM
Hi all, after wanting a lathe for many years a friend gave me this Smithy 3 in 1. It's about 10 years old but only has about an hours use on it and it looks in very good shape with plenty of tooling. He said he could never make it work right but I didn't ask him to explain as I was more concerned with getting it before he changed his mind. I've got it home and set up and now know what he meant, say if you had a piece of stock in the lathe chuck with about 2 inches sticking out to be turned down. The first 1/2" cuts fine then it starts taking a deeper cut as it progresses until it starts to cut too deep and bogs the machine down. This happens with and with out the power feed. It's as if it was cutting a taper. Excuse me if I don't know all the proper machining terms as I am a novice at this but I'm willing to learn and although this is an "offshore machine" it should be able to be made to cut straight. So I'm asking for your help please. Just as in many hobbies I've had what equipment you start off with may not be what you always stay with, it gets bigger and better(and expensive). Thanks, Mark.

steve.murphy
03-16-2011, 10:03 AM
Welcome. Most lathes have an adjustment on the tailstock for just this.
Good Luck Steve

http://www.smithy.com/training_teaser.php?id=8

anders nørgaard
03-16-2011, 12:43 PM
Hmm... sounds to me like the chuck/bore doesn't run parallel to the beds :rolleyes:

From what you explain, my understanding is that the machine is cutting a taper that has got a deceasing diameter, the closer you get to the chuck.

You can find out if that is a fact. Cuck up a piece of round stock and make sure it runs true. Mount a dial gauge on the cutting bit sleigh. Preload the gauge to a certain/random reading. Manually move the sleigh towards the chuck MACHINE NOT RUNNING!! Watch reading on gauge. If the lathe is set up right, the reading shouldn't change! :cool: ;)