PDA

View Full Version : opionions on bolting crossmembers

59flatbedford
08-12-2010, 10:15 PM
well ive been thinking of building a frame for a 4x4 59 ford f100 for quite a while now and the design of it would be pretty simple just two straight pieces of 2x4x.125 tubing for main rails. now the only thing that worries me is welding all the crossmembers in. Im a good welder and know i could make it hold but what about warping it all from the welding. So i was thinking instead you could take and weld flat plate onto the end of the crossmembers and use that to bolt them in. i was thinking probably at least 6, 1/2 inch grade eight bolts per crossmember end. So is this an acceptable ideal or a really bad one. would it just be better to skip around doing equal and oppisite short welds and hope everything comes out straight.

DYCE
08-12-2010, 10:56 PM
I'm a deisel mechanic, and if your talking about trucks crossmembers are bolted in. The main reason they do this is because the frame rails are heat treated. If you are building a frame with non-heattreated steel that won;t be in an extreme application you will be good.

Jim Stabe
08-13-2010, 06:31 AM
If you are using 2x4x.125 tubing for the frame of a full sized 4wd truck, I hope it just the bottom tube of the frame structure and that there is a very substantial roll cage tying it all together from front to rear. That 2x4 tube by itself will not be nearly strong enough. If you do have the roll structure welded in, welding in the crossmembers will be the least of your worries keeping it straight.

James(Western Canada)
08-13-2010, 07:59 AM
59FBF: Ever think of just BOXING the frame you have? And on a 4x4, I'm thinking 3/16" tube might be better?

James

59flatbedford
08-13-2010, 08:08 AM