PDA

View Full Version : Conecting a three phase mill motor?


irishpol
08-03-2010, 09:08 AM
I know nothing about 3 phase... The cable on this mill has 4 wires, red, green,black & white... So what's what? I'm conecting it to a used Phase A Matic static phase converter so I'm in the dark about what to connect to what?
Also the cross feed motor is missing its brushes, so I need a supplier for some including the little cap things that hold them in.
Many Thanks...

oldgoaly
08-03-2010, 09:22 AM
Paul, you will want the phase convertor only to connect to the motor on/off/reversing switch. pics would help, but a wiring diagram would be better. tt

timothale
08-03-2010, 10:26 AM
My phase converter came with directions ...check for a web site for the mfg ...Std wiring is the green or copper wire is the ground. the other wires are the power wires. If the motor runs the wrong direction switch two of the power wires . the capacitor converters will only give 2/3 of the power of a genuine 3 phase system. I can only run my mill on slow speed. usually the feed motors run on 110 volts ...an electric tool repair shop usually will have an assortment of carbon brushes.

Gitzit
08-03-2010, 05:39 PM
Paul, here is the link to their installation instructions. Might help?

http://www.phase-a-matic.com/PDF/SIS-2010.pdf

Neil Dunder
www.gogitzit.com (http://www.gogitzit.com)

irishpol
08-04-2010, 06:07 AM
Thanks for the info... One more question; How can I tell if the motor is set for 230V or 460V at the moment?

Gitzit
08-04-2010, 07:08 AM
Paul,
If you open the cover where the power goes into the motor you will see the connections. There are two common ways to hook up the power here in the US to set the voltage if its a single speed motor. There should be a diagram on the cover use the diagram if its there to check and change the voltage if needed. There will be a total of 9 leads coming out from the motor.

If there is no diagram just look at the incoming power leads. If they are each attached to one single wire from inside the motor its set for high voltage. If they are each hooked to two wires its set for the low voltage. This has been true on all the 9 lead motors I have worked on to date.

Neil Dunder
www.gogitzit.com (http://www.gogitzit.com)

irishpol
08-04-2010, 11:45 AM
Neil,
Three wires are one side of the switch, three wires are on the other side of the switch and three are all wound together? Am I right in assuming that it's wired for 230v & the switch is to reverse the motor?

Gitzit
08-04-2010, 07:06 PM
Paul I send you a PM. Are you sure this is a dual voltage motor? Are there 9 wires coming out of the motor windings?
Neil

irishpol
08-24-2010, 05:14 AM
Thanks for the offer Neil, it's already up & running fine.