PDA

View Full Version : network

tsutt
02-09-2004, 02:39 PM
HI, are any of you guy's network expert's? I'm trying to network an windows xp computer to my cnc mill that runs in dos. i'll explain further if there any help out there. Thanks Todd Sutton

bcarlson
02-09-2004, 07:12 PM
I'm not an expert, but I may be able to point you in the right direction.

What kind of interface do you have on the CNC machine (i.e. parallel, serial, etc)? If you are unsure, what kind of controller, and machine is it? Next, what ports do you have on your windows computer?

That should get us started... ;)

Ben

tsutt
02-09-2004, 08:03 PM
Hi Ben, Its got an ethernet card that i'm connecting to the desktop with a cross over cable. trying to setup msclient to run netbeui protocol the desktop seems to be ok. the control is an ajax ie centroid m39. it's asking for a bus#, a device# and an etherid# none of which i can locate or figure out, yet. i'm also getting error msgs on bootup that there is an incomplete binding in the protocol manager. and one that says ipx or netbios must be running in order to load network service Thanks, Todd

Peter Miles
02-09-2004, 08:59 PM
Is that XP Home or XP Professional on your PC? Is it now or has it ever been connected to any other computers in a network?

Is that the only computer involved or do you have a network of others? I assume it's probably the only one because you're trying to use a cross-over cable.

If the mill has an ethernet card, you may need to be setting up a TCP/IP address. Netbeui is a pretty old protocol, at least for the XP business world. It is probably something that you'd have to install on top of other protocols. You'll need to see if that is installed on your PC.

Go the the Start button on the lower left corner of your screen.
Click on Control Panel.
Click on Network Connections.
At this point there may be some differences between XP Home and XP Professional. I don't use XP Home.