PDA

View Full Version : Reamers and Bolt Holes

rebel280
04-14-2006, 02:12 PM
Hello :-)

I am starting to build an airplane of 6061-T6 aluminum. Some folks use reamers, some drills for their bolt holes. I will be making holes for bolts of the following sizes:

Bolt min to max reamer considered
AN4 0.2460-0.2490 0.2500
AN5 0.3090-0.3120 0.3125
AN6 0.3710-0.3740 0.3750

I don't know what the tolerances of the reamers are, but aren't they -0.0000 and +0.xxxxx? So it looks like there would be at least 0.0005-0.0010 difference. Would this be enough to slide/tap the bolt through without rubbing off the cadmium plating on the bolt?

There will be thick stock between 0.090 and 0.1875 joined to thinner sheets, 0.025-0.060 for the most part. I will be match drilling pilot holes, then making them bigger either on a drill press if possible, or by hand if not possible.

I've never used a reamer before. The ones I have available are chucking reamers that have a 45 deg chamber for ~1/8". I also have a hand chuck. Could I use this to ream them by hand? I've heard that's not a good idea.

Any other suggestions are welcome. I understand I should under drill by 1/64 before reaming.

hardtailjohn
04-15-2006, 08:20 AM
Rebel, what are these holes for? What airplane are you building, and what does the plans author suggest?
JH

Randall
04-15-2006, 08:28 AM
Hi Dan