PDA

View Full Version : Help wanted from a beginner

Tim.flatfour
01-08-2006, 12:35 PM
Hello everyone, this is my first post but I've been browsing the forums a bit for the past two days. I was hoping to find some help with this project idea I have.

Recently I've been planning out my first big project car, a mid-engine US-Spec Subaru STi powered '71 Beetle. I know the first step to a project like this is to find a basis, and I found a person that makes designs for a mid-engine V8 Beetle. Here is a link to his web page- http://www.rorty-design.com/content/beetle.htm I've presented my idea to him, and he likes it. He said he would be willing to work with me on this project if I can figure out a transaxle solution and take the measurements needed. I've already began doing the research, but on to what I need help with.

Like the title states, I'm a beginner. I've never done anything like this before, only basic engine, suspension, and body work. Does anyone have any words of wisdom to bestow to my situation? Is there any decent literature to help me better understand all the aspects of a project such as this?

Any help given will be greatly appreciated.

John Kelly
01-08-2006, 03:17 PM
Hi Tim,

A Porsche 914 transaxle and rear suspension might be something to consider. I was going to do this in a Ghia but have since changed my mind. Have you checked out:

www.shoptalkforums.com

www.thesamba.com

www.914club.com

http://www.franklinsvwwerks.com/phpbb/

John www.ghiaspecialties.com

Tim.flatfour
01-08-2006, 03:22 PM
John, I hadn't considered a 914 transaxle. What would be the benefit of using it?

I'm a member on Shoptalk and The Samba, as well as germanlook.com and superbeetlesonly.com.

Peter Miles
01-08-2006, 04:02 PM
With mid-engine transplants, engine crankshaft rotation versus mounting in front of or behind the rear axle are always possible tradeoff options.