PDA

View Full Version : Making a Bugatti fender buck in Rhino from Alex Data


Gene_Olson
12-27-2005, 06:20 PM
Bugatti fender buck in Rhino 2.0 using Alex' version 12 iges file.
There may be an easier way but I haven't learned it yet.

I bring up the fender and an intersecting plane where Wray wants the main spine of the buck, and issue and Intersect command. That gives me a line where the fender and the plane intersect.
http://www.metalmeet.com/photopost/data/3687/buck-1.jpg
I put the plane just a hair onto the edge of the outer half of the fender out of habit, caution, I want to make sure the plane intersects the fender.
http://www.metalmeet.com/photopost/data/3687/buck-2.jpg

Adding a horizontal member where Wray had one indicated
http://www.metalmeet.com/photopost/data/3687/buck-3.jpg

Checking the position at the rear of the fender.
It needs to go through the furthest back portion of the section
(Also we can see that more information is needed to define that back edge on the wing section.

http://www.metalmeet.com/photopost/data/3687/buck-4.jpg

I make a rough line to show where the inside edge of the fender is. I want to turn off the fender data and get it out of the way so I can see what I am doing.
http://www.metalmeet.com/photopost/data/3687/buck-5.jpg

I go up to layers and turn off the fender data.
http://www.metalmeet.com/photopost/data/3687/buck-6.jpg

I tell the program to divide the intersection line I made back the the first picture up into 24 parts. and then chose a tool that draws lines perpendicular to a curve. I draw a line at each of the 24 points and pull each of them into the fender well until they reach past the line I drew of the inner edge.
Once these lines are drawn, I extrude them out to make intersection planes for the buck stations.
http://www.metalmeet.com/photopost/data/3687/buck-7.jpg

Once the intersection planes are established I turn the fender data back on , select everything and then tell it to show me the intersections again.
This generates all the edge information for the cuts on the buck.
http://www.metalmeet.com/photopost/data/3687/buck-8.jpg

Here are the lines that show where the edges of the sheet metal buck would be if I built one. I put the tire back in for position and scale.

http://www.metalmeet.com/photopost/data/3687/buck-9.jpg

Peter Miles
12-27-2005, 07:10 PM
Impressive, Gene!

Now can you show us one of those slices as a 2-D planar object and with some sort of dimensioning information?

That would represent an actual buck station wouldn't it?

Gene_Olson
12-27-2005, 07:44 PM
Man Yawn ahhhhh, senor

The full scale front fender buck is on hold.

There is a bit more work to do to complete the geometry.


I already did that over on the other thread when I was working on stretching the bug to fit a typical Cycle cart scale.
I'll post a section of that over there (http://www.metalmeet.com/forum/showthread.php?p=42430&postcount=26)

Gene_Olson
12-28-2005, 10:51 PM
Ok, as I noted in post number 1 above, there might be an easier way . . .

http://www.metalmeet.com/photopost/data/3687/Buck-ra.jpg

http://www.metalmeet.com/photopost/data/3687/Buck-rb.jpg

http://www.metalmeet.com/photopost/data/3687/Buck-rc.jpg

I took a cue from the solidworks and alibre demos and said

ooooooooh they said take a section through a solid.

Duh.

I went back and built a solid base under the fender, and
then took all my buck generating planes that I made earlier and
instead of asking for a line where the intersection with the fender was
I told it to trim off everything that was outside of the solid base I had created under the fender.

Bingo. all shapes were trimmed to fit.

Now all that remains is for someone to add the slots so the parts slide together and dimensions.

attached below is an stp file of the buck data I drew in 1" scale.

The 505 k zipped iges file blue the limit so I could not upload it.

Jack can we set the limit to 600?

Instead I put it at http://webpages.charter.net/gro/metalmeet/bluebuck-iges.zip


Gene

tsutt
12-29-2005, 06:19 AM
That looks great Gene, But what your saying is way over my head. guess i'm going to have to get some training of some kind. I was looking at Alibre's web page, the training cd's don't say anything about surface or lofting ect.. Todd

Gene_Olson
12-29-2005, 07:13 AM
Todd Alibre doesn't do that other than a couple simple things.
The salesman told us as much.

Apparently the new version of rhino has a plug in that places Alibre's mechanical design and positioning into Rhino. so that one can work mechanical framework, nuts and bolts stuff in Alibre and it will be reflected in the Rhino 3 model.

I couldn't tell you. I have an old version of Rhino, which started as a plug in for autocad and the grew out of it's initial code. Things got so complicated and tortured they just junked it and started over in 3.

As to what I did up above.

Its all math, here is the "math"

One is either in the boat or out of the boat.
I told it that all the parts of the drawing that weren't inside my boat (the fender solid) had drowned,
then I opened the boat and let out the survivors and put the boat away in another place.

They call that Booliean algebra.

Gene

tsutt
12-29-2005, 07:38 AM
Of course it has to be math, I didn't do well in math..... err...or anything for that matter. On another note I was just talking to an Alibre salesman via email until fri. xpress users can upgrade to pro for $795. and do it over 12 months interest free! not a bad deal. Todd