PDA

View Full Version : Turning A Radius

dropgate
05-17-2005, 06:55 AM
Hi,

I finaly got my lathe up and running. I've never used a metal lathe before last week. I Have succesfully turned a front and rear axle and extended shock mounts for a sportster that I am putting a 250mm tire on. Now I would like to turn some dies form my plannishing hammer and make a set of edge turning dies for gas tanks but I have no idea how to make a radius needed for these jobs. I was wondering if anyone could give me a lesson in turning a radius. Thanks for all the helpfull info

Chad
Battle Creek, Mi

kenklose
05-17-2005, 08:13 PM
Kerry Pinkerton wrote a great radius turning tutorial for ewheel anvils. It translate nicely though for any type of radius turning.

http://www.metalmeet.com/forum/showthread.php?t=470

Boogiemanz1
05-17-2005, 08:50 PM
Chad, there is a big difference between cutting anvils the way Kerry did and say cutting a planishing hammer die. Kerry had the anvils on a mandrel, and you will be chucking the dies in the chuck.

Making a radius cut when the part is in the chuck means you will be cutting from the outside to the center. You can step it as Kerry did, or most using hand tools will use a grinder to get it rough shaped then use sandpaper.

There is a radius cutter for manual lathes, Holdridge radius/radii cutter is one of them....they are expensive if you don't use them a lot. I built one for my lathe and it works OK, but it is usually faster to do it with a grinder or sander.....just remember to clean the machine well after you grind on it..........john

jimmib
05-18-2005, 12:14 PM
Chad, Check this link out. Mech works shows a radius cutter that he made for his lathe. These can also be purchased from different suppliers.
Jim
http://www.chopperweb.net/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=8763

Brian McCollim
05-18-2005, 07:20 PM
There is an easy way to do a radius on the face of a part, but you are somewhat limited as to size of radius.