PDA

View Full Version : Motorcycle frame jig

AJH37
03-31-2005, 04:49 PM
Hey guys, I just started reading this forum a couple of weeks ago and can not beleive the wealth of info that is on here, its great. Was wondering what the best way to build a motorcycle jig is. I've found jigs on ebay thay are made of box tubing. Is this an accurate jig. Here is a link to the page http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dllViewItem&rd=1&item=4539163439&category=35562. I am fairly new at all this fabrication stuff, about 5 years experience in fabrication, and a few years running a small lathe for bike building. I have built two bikes from scratch. Making exhaust pipes, gas tanks, sissy bars, handle bars, ext. I don't like to rely on anyone, so that is why I try and build everything. I am very interested to start building my own frames. Thanks for any info. Later

Andy

AJH37
03-31-2005, 08:13 PM
link aint working, try this- http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=4539163439&category=35562 or http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=4539537874&category=35562

Nortonscustom
03-31-2005, 09:31 PM
Andy,
Personally I would save your money and build the fixture yourself. The frame fixture I use cost me about $150 in steel and works as well as any I've seen. As far as box tubing being accurate enough, that depends how much care is taken when it's built. Do a good job on it and you'll easily be able to hold tighter tolerances than the factory ever sent out the door.

norton

Boogiemanz1
03-31-2005, 09:43 PM
That's a good looking jig John. Very rarely see a sporty jig that nice. It looks easily changeable and adjustable.........john

AJH37
04-01-2005, 10:10 AM
Hey thanks, jig looks great, nice looking frame. What type of tubing bender do you have. I currently have plans to build one from 2 by 2 box tubing. The most expensive part of the bender will be the dies, $200.00 for a die set. THAT SUCKS. Oh well, thanks again.

shawnspeed