PDA

View Full Version : need part for clausing / was swapping lathe motors

jdrax
06-21-2004, 05:01 PM
I am looking at a southbend lathe, 13 x 32
it has a three phase motor underneath with just a double pulley on it, mounted with a 4 bolt configuration. the motor is a 1 hp, 3 phase.

i do not have 3 phase available however the motor looks pretty standard

what size single phase motor will replace this 1 hp, 3 phase

also wondering about your opinion of pricing

Capacity: 13" swing, by about 32" centers.
2- Face plates
3-jaw chuck w/backplate (also have a new 8" take off chuck)
Taper attachment
Collets with chuck and draw tube (set of collets 1/8" to 1")
has changeable speeds using levers instead of having to change the gears.

they are asking $2000.00

I am new to this lathe business but am going to do some learning.

my uses will be general shop use and for repairing and rebuilding of automotive parts etc.

reasonable condtion, was used in a school

Hemirambler
06-21-2004, 06:56 PM
Price varies greatly on LOCATION as well as CONDITION.

Personally I'd keep the 3 phase and obtain (build or buy) a phase converter - (rotary, static or VFD).

Price sounds fair to me, but not a "steal" - possibly a good deal considering all of the acessories included. This assumes that the ways are in good shape.

Is this a thead on chuck??? Those are somewhat undesireable to some - they tend to unscrew themselves under certain conditions!

I'd prefer a "L" (taper with a key) or "D" (camlock) series chuck with the later being more modern.

The collet and taper attachments are way cool! How many collets???

Carefully inspect the BACK GEAR for broken or missing teeth.