PDA

View Full Version : Smithy 3 in 1

Gritz
04-30-2004, 08:51 AM
OK, I received one of their catalogs yesterday and thought I'd ask for some input from those who know. I have been fabbing parts for some time with just hand tools and a lot of guess work. Mostly building street rods and customs as a hobby (computer analyst by trade). Have always wanted a lathe and am now giving it some serious thought. So, does anyone have any comments, pro/con on the Smithy machines?

thx Gritz

mfifield
04-30-2004, 11:55 AM
Gritz

You can read a little bit about my experience with my Granite 1324 under the Grizzly lathe thread.

I've been very happy with mine, but I'm not a professional machinist nor toolmaker. I've made a lot of stuff with it and it is more accurate than i am.

Call me if you have any questions.

Mike

work 315 734 - 2137
home 315 -738 - 1399

metalchomper
04-30-2004, 12:50 PM
Gritz,
I have a '90 model Shoptask. I can't seem to get a good cut with the lathe portion (chatter). This may be from my inexperience or the bushing in the headstock. Have made many parts with it though. It also doesn't have any powerfeeds, but are still available. Changing belts for different speeds is annoying. The mill portion works good, but you have to take light cuts. On mine, the quill doesn't go low enough to the table and extensions lead to chatter marks. It looks as though the newer machines are much better. Get one with R8 tooling for the mill.
Brett

Kerry Pinkerton
04-30-2004, 06:54 PM
In my entire life I have never used a multipurpose tool that performed any of it's designed functions anywhere as well as a single purpose machine. Someone said about a multi tool once. "Yeah, it does indeed do X things....poorly"

Having said that, I've never seen a smithy much less used one. The HF version looks pretty light for working steel of any size.

metalchomper
04-30-2004, 08:35 PM